Skip to content

IntoTownes

March 20, 2013

townes van zandt – to live is to fly (taken from “sunshine boy“, omnivore 2cd, 2013)
townes van zandt – heavenly houseboat blues (taken from “sunshine boy“, omnivore 2cd, 2013)

Some things appear unavoidable – liking Townes van Zandt for instance. His name regularly cropped up at the perimeter of my musical landscape these last few years, but I never took this as a sign to investigate. One thing I did notice was the fact that people often spoke of the late Texas singer in revered tones. Since people do the same for music I’m not into, I continued going about my business.

Fast forward to 2013, the start of my later thirties and the release of “Sunshine Boy – The Unheard Studio Sessions & Demos 1971-1972“. One day I was clowning the genre of music for older men with friends, the next I was hopelessly into Townes van Zandt… and with reason. This double CD strips down the arrangements and production that were often used to dress up his (earlier) albums, leaving the listener with just Van Zandt, his guitar and a basic backing band. Check out the two tracks posted above and dive into the Cult of Townes if you take a fancy to it.

covertownesblog

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 21, 2013 10:18 am

    ‘Sad Bastards’: me like!

Leave a Reply

