Skip to content

On the fence with Kendrick

October 24, 2012

kendrick lamar – sing about me, i’m dying of thirst (from “good kid, M.A.A.D. city“, aftermath 2012)

After last years’ impressive “Section.80“, Los Angeles rapper Kendrick Lamar has released his official debut album. I’m on my fifth listen, and while I’m far from having made up my mind about it, I’m impressed. Lamar went all out: multiple different narrative arcs run trough the album, a cast of 10+ producers deliver a (surprisingly coherent) set of stellar beats and every other song seems to introduce a new flow. The result? An immersive experience that both impresses and leaves me feeling it wants too much.

A case in point is the 11-minute “Sing about me, I’m dying of thirst” posted above – a good example of how impressive “good kid, M.A.A.D. city” is, it also demonstrates how serious Lamar is. A whole album of this leaves me lightheaded. That said, I’ll be returning to it. Curious to hear what you think after listening for yourselves.

Small gripe: I know “Cartoon & Cereal” was released at the beginning of 2012, but I would’ve liked to hear it in the flow of this album.

EDIT NOV 7TH 2012, listened to the album a number of times since writing the above: this is great. When was the last time you listened to a new hiphop album 10+ times in two weeks?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

