Skip to content

a certain symmetry

October 17, 2008

various artists – four songs by arthur russell (2007) EP

I first met Arthur Russells´ music when I was 19, on a vacation in the Mosel Valley with my walkman. A friend had made a tape with Another Thought and I switched between his songs and my own songs while the most beautiful landscapes opened themselves up ahead of me.

It was a good first meeting and I burned my neck really bad. Four years later I was playing shows here and there and I often played Arthur’s “A Little Lost” on my kalimba. I had suggested to Victoria Bergsman that maybe we should make a single or EP of Arthurs songs. She put me in touch with Verity Susman from Electrelane and I brought in Joel Gibb from the Hidden Cameras.

At this point we felt there was a certain symmetry between us, we could’ve brought in a few more and made a tribute album but tribute albums are boring in my opinion and tend to lose focus halfway through. So we banged the little drum instead of the big one because the little drum is always finer

Jens Lekman, 2007

2 Comments leave one →
  1. nail permalink
    October 21, 2008 3:48 pm

    wauwie…

  2. Horst Tappert permalink
    October 22, 2008 8:52 am

    Da’s toevallig, kwam gisteren op deze site terecht: http://www.arthurrussellmovie.com/index-media.html

    PS: mooi hoor!

Leave a Reply

